The Corporation of Brown University is Brown’s primary governing body. It consists of a 12-member Board of Fellows and a 42-member Board of Trustees, meets three times per year, and makes policy decisions in areas including academic affairs, advancement, budget and finance, and campus life.


Christina Paxson became the 19th president of Brown University in July 2012. In February 2017, the Corporation appointed her to a second five-year term as president, extending her tenure through June 30, 2022. As chief executive officer, President Paxson reports to the Corporation, oversees all divisions of Brown’s administration, and is chief ambassador for the university. An accomplished scholar, she is also a professor of economics and public policy.

Senior Staff

The senior staff includes the provost, deans, vice presidents for research, finance, planning, campus life, advancement, communications, equity and diversity, and other senior leaders of the University.

Administrative Offices

Brown’s various managerial offices ensure a smooth daily operation of the university. See the A-to-Z page for a complete directory of offices.